20 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2018 2:19 PM by Jim Steinmeyer

Mirrored feature problem?

C B

I'm very new to Solidworks so this might be a simple problem on my part. What I want to do is mirror the tab shown below about the 'Right Plane' so I have an identical tab on the opposite side of the part. However see the screenshots below. Clearly this is not a mirror of the original tab. It looks like it is extruding the new tab to the same face the original was extruded to?

How do I mirror just the tab? Attached is the file.

• Re: Mirrored feature problem?
          Jim Steinmeyer

Conrad

To mirror something it needs to be a separate feature. looking at your screen shots it doesn't look like this is separate but was created with the initial sketch. I can't tell for sure as I am only on 2017. If you will delete the tab from the first sketch and create it as a later feature you will be able to mirror the tab.

C B

Hi Jim! Thanks for your quick reply. The tab is the second feature in the tree (Boss-Extrude2).

Solid Air

Not sure why SolidWorks does not like what you did but you extruded the tab up to surface so when you mirror the tab, it extrudes out to the same surface.  To see this for yourself change up to surface to blind.

To fix I would recommend moving the tab extrude above the first mirror.  To do this you will need to fix two relations in your tab sketch: Coincident0 and Coincident1 are created from geometry from your first mirror.  After you fix the relations, you can move the tab feature above the mirror feature and add it to the mirror feature.

Rick McDonald

Conrad,

I am only on SW 2015 so I can't open your file, but it looks like one of you settings in your Mirror 2 is not correct since it is looking more like an extrude.

Another thing I think you could do is - do the Boss Extrude 2 BEFORE the Mirror 1 and then you would be mirroring Boss Extrude 1 AND Boss Extrude 2 with the same mirror operation.